Log in

Chapter History

Chapter History


Through the vision of Mu Kappa Omega’s two charter members, Pamiel Gaskin and Delores Tarver Smith, and the dedication and diligence of a group of visionary women, the Missouri City chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was formed. 

On June 24, 1978, before the 48th International Conference, which was hosted at the Albert Thomas Convention Center in Houston, the chapter was chartered. The chartering ceremony was officiated by then South Central Regional Director, Deralyn Riles Davis of Fort Worth, Texas.  

There were forty three reactivated members as charter members of Mu Kappa Omega Chapter. The photo below is of the first officers of Mu Kappa Omega.


The membership of this chapter includes talented and professional women, who are dedicated to carrying on the traditions, ideas, and goals established by the founders. As community leaders, the women of Mu Kappa Omega Chapter have pooled their resources and talents to help improve the quality of life in Fort Bend County and the metropolitan Houston Area.

The chapter has grown over the years. We currently have seven hundred eighteen (718) members, and we continue to grow.  Members continue to uphold the mission – "Members shall cultivate high scholastic achievement; ethical standards and personal development while supporting family unity and implementing effective programs that positively impact the communities we serve."

First Chapter Officers

Pamiel Gaskin
1st Vice President: 
Delores T. Smith 
Recording Secretary: 
Janet Odom 
Mary Traylor McClelland
Assistant Recording Secretary:
Claudia Anderson
Keeper of the Door:
Gloria Franklin
Julia Smith Nunn
Financial Secretary:
Margie Taylor
Ivy Leaf Reporter/ Historian: 
Delores Medlock Duffy
Normell Wallace Guyden


Charter Members

Claudia Anderson **

Lillian Bourgeois

Lucy Bremond

Sylvia Burdette  

Regina H. Carrington

Orbdella Clark

Laura Collins

Ada Cooper **

Delores M. Duffy **

Leola Edwards

Lillie Etienne

Tena Fanuiel **

Gloria Franklin

Pamiel Gaskin*

Vanessa Gilmore



Normell W. Guyden

Carolyn Hamilton

Pamela Hobdy

Anna M. Holmes

Jewell T. Hunter

Sharon Lester

Lillian Lincoln

Melba M. Martell

Frankie Mason

Dottie Maxey

Betty Merritte

Janice Munks

Brenda D. North

Julia Smith Nunn

Janet Odom


Rose Odom

Beverly Robinson

Sarah Simon **

Carolyn Slater **

           Delores T. Smith*           

Donna D. Smith

Marie Stovall

Margie Taylor

Pamela Taylor

Julia F. Thompson **

Mary Traylor

Verstene Traylor

Alice M. Wallace


* denotes Chapter Founders  ** Ivy Beyond the Wall 

Current President - monica green


Past Chapter Presidents

Jessica Hill
2019 / 2022


Jacqueline Watson
2017 / 2018

Madelyn Nunn **
2015 / 2016

Ivory Harrison
2013 / 2014

Tara McDowell **
2011 / 2012

Beverly Dixon
2009 / 2010

Yvette Mitchell
2007 / 2008

Jacqueline Caviel
2005 / 2006

Kechia Warren-Joseph
2003 / 2004

Jacqueline Watson
2001 / 2002

Karen Gibson
1999 / 2000

Alice Thompson

Deborah Bell

Mary McClelland

Jeri Cook

Paula Haywood
1993 / 1994

Ivy Levingston
1991 / 1992

 Deborah Bell
1989 / 1990

 Deborah Bell

Delores Rodgers

Yolande Scott
1984 / 1985

Mary McClelland

Julia Nunn
1981 / 1982

Delores Tarver Smith

Pamiel Gaskin



Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® is not responsible for the design nor content of these web pages.

They are the sole property and responsibility of the Mu Kappa Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website.


© Copyright Mu Kappa Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ®. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software